researchr on Linux (Addemdum to Computer-aided Scientific Workflow)


In my last blog entry, I presented the extemporary, yet neat solution for an academic workflow, which was unfortunately limited to Mac. Though I own a MacBook myself, I am also very passionate about Linux and like to find solutions that are plattform-independent.

I already suspected, that given setup should be easily portable to Linux, only the Open Source tools Skim and BibDesk would take some deeper programming, as they depend on the Cocoa Library. But one could find alternatives:

So the presented workflow should be more or less reproducible on a Linux system. Get a feel for why this workflow is – in my opinion – ingenious, and then try porting it to Linux. The community of scientists using Linux will most definitely appreciate it.

One way to replace Skim and BibDesk would be to turn to an integrated solution, such as the Cross-Platform solution Mendeley, which uses the Qt framework and is therefor available for Linux, Mac and Windows. It is similar to Papers, but in my opinion, Mendeley seems to be much leaner. It also offers some social-network features, that other reference management systems lack.

The Ph.D. student Bodong Chen (who incidentally also studies at the University of Toronto) tried it, and seems to have succeeded. On his researchr-Wiki he gives some pointers on how it’s done (and it seems, like he also tried to do so on Windows, but as I suspected, there seems to be no success).

So, to all you Linux-Heads out there, here’s a solution for you, too. Try it out, make it better, document it, and give me a link, if you do 😉

Please comment. I really enjoy your thoughts!

